Faithfulness

Today I spoke at a school on the topic of faithfulness. The text chosen for me was Psalm 89:1. 

I will sing of the steadfast love of the LORD, forever; 
with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness to all generations.

The starting point for my discussion about our own faithfulness is talking about the one to whom I am faithful. I am faithful to the Lord God who has created me, tenderly cares for me, and continually seeks to rescue me.

My song celebrates the Lord God. My mouth declares to the generations the faithfulness of God. God showed the rainbow to Noah as a sign of his covenant. God provided the ram in the thicket to Abraham as a sign that he is faithful. God provided his own son as the sacrifice because he is faithful to his desire to rescue me.

Even while I was yet still a sinner he lavished his grace upon me by sending his son Jesus to be my savior.I lift up the name of the Lord God because I trust him beyond all measure. I step forward into each day with the confidence that the Lord God will be faithful to his promise to love and care for me. 

When I open my mouth, I want my words and my song to point others to the faithfulness of God. Faith comes by hearing and I pray that people will hear from me the works and wonders of God.

Image

Leave a Reply

