Ascending and Descending

I give thanks that Jesus Christ has descended to the deepest point of my shame. Jesus was handed over to human hands for betrayal. Jesus suffered the shame of sin that was not his own. He died on the cross a death that was not his own. There is no doubt that the glory of God can be present in my moments of despair, because I know Jesus was present on the cross for me.

Jesus entered into my steps that have been going down, down, down. He stopped me in my steps and turned me around. He has given me a heart of repentance and a faith to trust in him to carry me up, up, up to the kingdom of God.

Jesus told Nicodemus that no one can ascend into heaven but he who has descended from heaven, the Son of Man. I know that I cannot ascend to heaven through some ascetic pursuit of righteousness. The stairway to heaven can only be climbed up by the one who climbed down. I need Jesus otherwise I am falling down the stairs with no hope. I need Jesus.

I need the Jesus that went up the mountain with Peter, James and John to pray. Upon that mountain his face was altered and his clothing became brilliantly bright. He talked to Moses and Elijah about all that was soon to be accomplished in Jerusalem. Peter spoke up and said, “Lord it is good that we are here, let us build three tents. One for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.” On that mountain, even while Peter was still speaking, a great cloud came upon them. The voice of God came from that cloud and said, “This is my son, my chosen one, listen to him.”

I need the Jesus that is the glory of God that came down from that mountain. He came down that mountain because the glory of God should not be seen with just a peek by three disciples. God sent his son into the world not to condemn the world but that the whole world would be saved (John 3:17).

I pray that in the midst of the crowded voices in this world that I would see that it is Jesus that is my rescue and my salvation.

Leave a Reply

