Christmas Sermons

This morning I sat at Panera and listened to Bach’s Christmas Oratorio. While drinking from a bottomless cup of coffee I wrote down to paper the sermons for Advent Midweek 4, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day. I will certainly have to do some final draft work and double check that my caffeine supported thoughtfulness does truly connect the people of St. Paul Lutheran Church to the life-giving good news of Jesus Christ.

I have greatly enjoyed Rev. Dr. Reed Lessing’s study on Isaiah 40:1-11 as I prepare myself for coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Advent 4 midweek is done. Going to preach about naked furniture. Hmmmm

Christmas Eve sermon is written and I find myself being brought out of the pit of despair and reaching up to join with the heavenly chorus of angels.

Christmas day is down on paper. To the wordless that do not know the glory of God, the word made flesh has come. To those that fade like the flower, the life of the world has come. To the lost, we have a savior who has made his home in our wilderness.

Leave a Reply

