Sing, Sing, Sing

Psalm 96:1
O sing to the Lord a new song;
sing to the Lord, all the earth.

I love the invitation to sing to the Lord a new song and that this invitation is for all the earth. I rejoice in singing to God because I am His subject and He is my king.

This song we sing in the church is not a private song. We sing a song to the Lord with a worldwide perspective. The horizons of our praise is beyond my imagination. He is not my private savior. He is the savior for the whole world.

God has delivered my by his gracious hand so I can be a part of His glorious kingdom. He has rescued me so I can live as His servant. No matter where I will find myself I go with the confidence that my king will preserve my life by the power of His gracious gifts, the Word of God and the Sacraments.

We will have many leaders throughout our days. These leaders will provide us protection and care. I trust the police, armed forces and the whole US government to provide me peace and security in this world (Romans 13). I gladly pay taxes and other support to enable this peace (Matthew 22:15-22). But I also recognize that I cannot expect from this agencies any spiritual peace. If I seek spiritual peace and security through the work of the government I will continually find roadblocks and disappointment (Acts 4:19-20).

When I travel around this world, I do so with confidence as a citizen of the United States. I am not surprised that my spiritual life will experience attack in this world. It may be possible a time will come when I may be under spiritual attack at the very hands of the government that has been established to provide me peace and security. No matter how much I meet times when sin seeks to mute my song of praise, I have confidence that the King of Kings will give me a song to sing.

psalm 96

One thought on “Sing, Sing, Sing

Leave a Reply

