Hands that knit–Arms that hold

Psalm 139 gives me confidence that the Lord knows me. Scary that he knows my troubles and pains, because I want to be strong and mighty. Truth… it is amazing that he knows me because honestly I am weak and broken.

13      For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14      I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
15      My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16      Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.

These verses are important to me this weekend as our community participates in life chains and other efforts to highlight God’s love for all people.

The Lord with His tender hands has knit me together. My very inward parts are known by God because they are His handiwork.

He has not only knit me together but he has covered me with his vast mercy.

Some may think that the church should not deal with the abortion issue because it is a political question. Others may see the abortion question as a private question that each individual has to understand on their own.

So what authority do I/you have to speak forth rightly about abortion and other life issues like euthanasia?

Truth is I do not have any authority on my own to tell people what do to with their bodies or with their loved ones for whom they are guardians.

But I do believe God has the authority to speak to us. His authority is rooted first in the truth that He is our creator and we are His creatures. He is our Lord and Maker. It is true whether a person admit this truth or not.

The authority of God to speak to us is not only rooted in His essence as God, but also in His action as our savior. Jesus Christ has paid the redemption price to rescue all the world from the punishment of sin. He accomplished this redemption work not with gold or silver that will fluctuate on the world market. He atoned for the sins of the world with His own precious blood, which never depreciates in value.

God does have the moral authority to speak to us and fearfully and faithfully we need to listen to what He says.

This is the time to speak with clarity and confidence that God’s desire is for life and redemption for all people. It is not the time for the witness of the Christian community to be “meh?”

In our society we need to speak clearly and confidently as witnesses to the work of our Lord. This is not the time for making up Bible quotes or vaguely referencing the Bible. It is not the time to say, “I think I read somewhere in the Bible… (later finding out you are quoting a restaurant billboard you saw on US 23)”

The message about life today is important for the church to share because it is increasingly becoming muted in our society. People are getting tired of fighting for life and have figured that nothing is going to change in our society so why bother.

I think we should give up on this conversation if our authority to bring about change was only rooted in ourselves. But our authority is not built on that flimsy of a foundation. We our sharing the Word of God and God never relents. He ceaselessly seeks to share His steadfast love. Even if people have turned their backs on God we continue to speak and act for the unborn and those without a voice in our society.

We are watchman for the house of Israel calling out to the world that the paths of ungodliness lead to a dead end.

We are God’s ambassadors for reconciliation. This is not optional.

What does God call us to share about value of life?

God values all life. He shaped Adam from the ground and breathed life into him. God cared for Adam and saw that it was not good for him to be alone. He formed Eve from the rib of Adam. God not only creates but He tenderly and mercifully watches over us.

God values all life. Even when life is lived rebellion, the Lord seeks to save the lost. For instance Jesus told us about the good shepherd who leaves the ninety-nine to go find the sheep that was lost. We also hear in the parable of the Prodigal Son that the father welcomes back the son who had left and wasted all of his inheritance.

God values all life. When life is lived in suffering there remains value. You and me in our suffering are not forgotten by God. The presence of Jesus at the cross is the most powerful truth that the grace of God can be found in our suffering. In the Old Testament Job confesses confidently “And after my skin has been thus destroyed, yet in my flesh I shall see God, whom I shall see for myself, and my eyes shall behold, and not another. My heart faints within me!” (Job 19:26-27)

God values all life and desires to restore all life back into a relationship with Him.

All sin is grave. No sin is private or individual. All sin hurts our relationship with God and with others.

While all sin is grave, our God is gracious. All sin is forgiven by Jesus Christ who lived, died, and rose for you.

witness

I invite you to have faith in Jesus Christ and rejoice that your sin is forgiven. Have faith in Jesus Christ and live in your healed relationship with God. Have faith in Jesus Christ and trust that the Holy Spirit will work through you.

2 thoughts on “Hands that knit–Arms that hold

  1. This is a very beautiful and meaningful post, Pastor, on abortion.
    What I am wondering, is in your statement:
    “God values all life. When life is lived in suffering there remains value.”~ are you arming out to issues such as “pulling the plug?”~ and the VERY fine line between “causing or allowing death” (discussions that still haunt me from sitting on ethics boards) or are you referencing the suffering of the decision of abortion?

    • Yes I am thinking of end of life questions as well. I do think quality of life questions are easily muddy with statements of value.

      A person at all times has the value of God’s love.

Leave a Reply

