Life Together with the Risen Lord

Easter this year at St. Paul is going to be the celebration that we are able to live life together in the risen Lord. Matthew 28:1-10 is the appointed Gospel reading for the Resurrection of our Lord.

We will hear the joy that Christ is risen just as he promised. We do not need to look and fear that disappointment, despair, decay and destruction are just around the corner.

In some ways the sermon for this Sunday will follow a common pattern: sin–suffering–redemption–reconciliation. We all come divided by sin to the cross but in the resurrection we find ourselves united in victory. I think that the resurrection of Jesus gives us an invitation to see all of our suffering, sin and shame destroyed by the cross. We can trust that Jesus is victorious with his love, forgiveness and peace.

So I don’t need to keep fearing imperfections being found out or despair turning around to bring me fear. Christ brings his victory. So as much as we have died with Christ on the cross we to the glory of God the Father walk in the newness of life in Christ. Instead of living life in avoidance of sin, I live in the joy of the victory of Jesus. No longer am I a slave to my fear of sin, but now I am free to live  in praise to Jesus and in fellowship with my brothers and sisters in Christ.

One thought on “Life Together with the Risen Lord

  1. I feel especially drawn to: “No longer am I a slave to my fear of sin, but now I am free to live in praise to Jesus and in fellowship with my brothers and sisters in Christ.”

    This shall be my meditation between now and Easter morning; I wonder where God will lead me?

Leave a Reply

