What do we seek from the incarnation?

I read in a book (Christmas: Festival of Incarnation by Donald Heinz) about the history of Christmas theology about Karl Barth’s necessity for the incarnation. Everything depends on what came down to us at Christmas. At Christmas time we should seek for the fundamental answers: Who is God? and who am I?

People are searching for God and searching for their own identities. We must expect from the incarnation every answer about God and ourselves to be answered.

So everything depends on what comes down from above, and the community of Christians that gather at Christmas must vigilantly seek from Christ everything.

How is Christ your everything?

Is your devotion at Christmas reflective of the confidence that the baby born in Bethlehem is the everything from above that we need?

I worry that people witness Christmas as a nice addition to who they are instead of a foundation to who they are.

I am someone for whom Christ became flesh. I am someone for whom the one above descended for. The king of kings has stooped down and become for me a servant so that I might no longer be a slave to sin. What wondrous love is this that my savior has shown for me.

One thought on “What do we seek from the incarnation?

  1. I am fascinated by the question:
    Is your devotion at Christmas reflective of the confidence that the baby born in Bethlehem is everything from above that we need?

    We are confident that the Holy Bible contains the Word of our Lord; that the Word of our Lord is true; our baby Lord Jesus is the Word made flesh; and the Word is everything we need from above.

    We may think of the word “devotion” as either in “my morning devotions” or as in “I am devoted to.”

    My “devotions” at Christmas reflects the confidence that the baby born in Bethlehem is everything from above that I need, by my heart’s desire to be in The Word and my heart’s need to claim ALL of God’s promises to me for my life in Him, as He was born in the flesh.
    My “devotion” is to my Lord Jesus Christ, born as a baby; and at this time of His birth, I wish to join “the stars in the sky (who)look down where He lay” to worship our baby Lord Jesus, because I AM confident that He is ALL that I need from above.

    Have a wonderfully Blessed Christmas, in full confidence that we do have all we need.
    Janet

Leave a Reply

