Sabbath Rest

This Sunday I plan to preach on the third commandment, “Remember the Sabbath Day by keeping it holy.”

As part of my studies towards a Doctor of Ministry I took a class this last summer called, “Preaching the Pentateuch.” This Sunday’s sermon is a part of the requirements for completion of this class. This commandment and indeed all of the commandments are no longer commandments we keep in order to be saved. We do not secure our salvation by keeping this commandment or any other commandment. My salvation is found in the work of Jesus who fulfilled the law perfectly for me and for all.

So why then the law? What does a follower of Jesus do with the commandments?

I find my need for God in the law. When I remember the Sabbath Day, I remember that I cannot find rest from my work apart from the peace that God gives to me.  Divine Rest is from God. How do I keep holy? By  keeping in God. In the Word of God I find my holiness.

Leave a Reply

