Purpose of Doctor of Ministry

The reason why I am getting a Doctor of Ministry is to become a better a pastor in my context.

I thought about a PhD but I did not want to leave my congregation for an extended residency on a campus. Luther Seminary’s program is structured with clear deadlines.

I will appreciate the cohort model (working with the same group of 10 people through all three years). This group will provide accountability for me as I work on my project. Over these three weeks I have found them to be diverse and authentic within their context.

I am an LCMS pastor and I do find myself challenged by the varied contexts that people serve in and so I appreciate spending time with them.

This group supports and encourages me in my project and I also will support and encourage them in their work.

Leave a Reply

